Alabama Nutrition Programs & Online Degrees

Seven Alabama schools offer 29 nutrition credentials, running from a 12-credit graduate certificate to a research doctorate. Published program costs span roughly $5,300 for Jacksonville State’s graduate certificate to about $176,500 for Samford’s four-year bachelor’s degree. Durations run from two semesters for that certificate to four years for every bachelor’s degree in the state.

All seven schools hold some form of ACEND accreditation, but only five carry a student the whole way to the registered dietitian credential. The University of Alabama, Auburn, Samford, Oakwood and UAB each run supervised practice that can be completed without a separate national internship match. Tuskegee and Jacksonville State stop at the verification statement, which means the hardest step in the pathway happens somewhere else.


Nutrition Programs in Alabama — Comparison Table

School Credentials Est. Cost Format RD Pathway
University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa
B.S., Food and Nutrition — 120 cr
M.S., Human Nutrition — 30 cr
M.S. + Coordinated Program — 57 cr
Ph.D., Nutrition Sciences — 54 cr min
$47.9K flat
$14.4K flat
$26.6K res / $74.6K non-res
$38.4K res / $110.4K non-res
B.S. Online
M.S. Online or Campus
CPD Hybrid
Ph.D. Campus
Yes, through the campus Coordinated Program only
Auburn University
Auburn
B.S., Nutrition, Dietetics — 120 cr
B.S., Nutrition, Pre-Health — 123 cr
M.S., Nutrition — 33 cr
M.S. + Dietetic Internship — 39 cr
Ph.D., Nutrition — 60 cr min
$54.3K res / $150.4K non-res
$54.3K res / $150.4K non-res
$17.6K flat
$27.2K flat
$45.6K res / $125.5K non-res
Both B.S. Campus
M.S. Online
M.S. + internship Hybrid
Ph.D. Campus
Yes, through the M.S. with Dietetic Internship
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham
B.S., Nutrition Sciences — 123–125 cr
U.G. Certificate, Nutrition and Dietetics — 130 cr with the B.S.
M.S., Nutrition Sciences — 30–58 cr, five tracks
Grad Certificate, Dietitian Education — 37 cr
Grad Certificate, Nutrition for Community Health — 16 cr
Ph.D., Nutrition Sciences — 72 cr
$52.1K res / $129.9K non-res
$55.4K res / $138.1K non-res
$22.3K–$43.2K flat
$27.5K flat
$10.3K res / $25.5K non-res
$46.5K res / $114.9K non-res
B.S. Campus
U.G. Certificate Campus
M.S. Online or Hybrid
Grad Certificate Hybrid
Community Certificate not stated
Ph.D. Campus
Yes, by three graduate routes. Undergraduate DPD in candidacy
Samford University
Birmingham
B.S., Nutrition and Dietetics — 128 cr
B.S., Culinary and Wellness — 128 cr
M.S., Nutrition — 33–34 cr
M.S., Dietetics Concentration — 48 cr
Certificate, Dietetic Internship — 25 cr
$176.5K flat
$175.2K flat
$32.2K–$33.2K flat
$51.1K flat
$24.4K flat
Both B.S. Campus
M.S. Nutrition Online
Dietetics Concentration Hybrid
Internship Hybrid
Yes, by two separate graduate routes
Oakwood University
Huntsville
B.S., Dietetics — 120 cr
B.S., Nutrition, Vegetarian Culinary — 121 cr
M.P.H., Nutrition and Wellness — 42 cr
Certificate, Distance Dietetic Internship — 24 cr
$96.4K flat
$96.4K flat
$27.3K flat
$13.0K flat
Both B.S. Campus
M.P.H. Online
Internship Hybrid
Yes, but only by completing all three stages
Tuskegee University
Tuskegee
B.S., Food and Nutritional Sciences — 123–125 cr, six options
M.S., Food Science and Nutritional Science — 30 cr
$109.0K flat
$42.1K flat
Campus
Campus
No. The DPD option yields a verification statement only
Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville
B.S., Exercise Science and Wellness, Nutrition Science — 120 cr
Graduate Certificate, PE–Nutrition — 12 cr
M.S.E., PE, Nutrition Concentration — 30 cr
$43.2K res / $86.4K non-res
$5.3K res / $8.6K non-res
$13.3K res / $21.6K non-res
B.S. Campus
Graduate format not stated
No. The DPD concentration yields a verification statement only

Which Alabama Nutrition Program Fits You

Choose Samford if you want the credential with no internship match at all. Its Dietetics Concentration is an ACEND Graduate Program that embeds supervised practice in the degree, and placement is arranged nationwide rather than in Birmingham. The separate 20-seat internship is the cheaper route at the same school if you will compete for a seat.

Choose UAB if you are arriving with part of the pathway already finished. Its master’s sorts applicants into five tracks by what they already hold, including a 30-credit Prior Learning Option for people who completed a dietetic internship and now need the graduate degree CDR requires. Coursework is online and Dietitian Education practicum can be arranged anywhere in the United States, so the credential does not require relocating.

Choose Auburn if you want your rotations assigned rather than recruited. Auburn places every intern itself at a flat $27,240 regardless of residency, with the 1,000 hours inside a 39-credit master’s. The catch is geography: rotations run three days a week within roughly 90 miles of Auburn.

Choose the University of Alabama if you want flagship pricing with no residency premium. Every distance student pays $399 undergraduate or $480 graduate per credit whatever state they live in, which puts a 30-credit master’s at $14,400. The Coordinated Program that actually completes the credential is campus-based and admits once a year on a February 1 deadline.

Choose Oakwood if you want plant-based dietetics and supervised practice near home. Every stage of the pathway sits in one department, and the internship is distance-format so the practice year does not require moving. Interns locate their own preceptors, which is the real risk to weigh.

Choose Tuskegee if the destination is the food industry or graduate research. Its Food Science option carries Institute of Food Technologists approval, which no other school profiled here holds, and the thesis master’s connects to two funded research centres. The dietetics option is accredited but runs no supervised practice of any kind.

Choose Jacksonville State if you want performance nutrition, or a documented route back after a weak transcript. It posts the lowest published per-credit rates of the six at $360 to $443, and a 12-credit graduate certificate completed at a 3.0 waives the undergraduate GPA threshold for master’s admission. The graduate credentials are physical education degrees with nutrition concentrations, not dietetics degrees.


Alabama Nutrition Schools

University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa. The Department of Human Nutrition, Hospitality and Sport Management runs the state’s widest credential ladder, from an online bachelor’s to a campus doctorate.

  • B.S., Food and Nutrition — $47.9K, 120 credits, 4 years, Online
  • M.S., Human Nutrition — $14.4K, 30 credits, 1–2 years, Online or Campus
  • M.S. with the Coordinated Program in Dietetics — $26.6K resident, 57 credits, 24 months, Hybrid
  • Ph.D., Nutrition Sciences — $38.4K resident, 54 credits minimum, 3 years, Campus

Alabama’s defining feature is a split between what is online and what leads to the credential. The ACEND-accredited didactic coursework runs fully online at a flat national rate, but the Coordinated Program supplying the 21 credits of supervised practice is campus-based, and the online M.S. alone confers no RDN eligibility.

Two required chemistry courses are not taught by UA at any distance, so online dietetics students source them elsewhere.

Full University of Alabama profile

Auburn University

Auburn. The Department of Nutritional Sciences owns the didactic program, the internship and the master’s degree the credential now requires, which few schools anywhere do.

  • B.S., Nutrition, Dietetics option — $54.3K resident, 120 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • B.S., Nutrition, Pre-Health option — $54.3K resident, 123 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • M.S., Nutrition — $17.6K, 33 credits, 1.5–2 years, Online
  • M.S. with Dietetic Internship — $27.2K, 39 credits, 15 months, Hybrid
  • Ph.D., Nutrition — $45.6K resident, 60 credits minimum, Campus

Placement certainty is the product here. Auburn assigns all 1,000 supervised practice hours rather than sending interns out to recruit preceptors, and provides a $500 RD exam review course at no cost.

Auburn’s own pages disagree on whether the internship program bills 33 or 39 credits, a difference of roughly $3,200.

Full Auburn University profile

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham. The Department of Nutrition Sciences runs the widest credential ladder in the state, from a campus bachelor’s through two graduate certificates to a research doctorate, backed by two NIH-funded centers on site.

  • B.S., Nutrition Sciences — $52.1K resident, 123–125 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • M.S., Nutrition Sciences — $22.3K–$43.2K, 30–58 credits, 3–5 semesters, Online or Hybrid
  • Graduate Certificate, Dietitian Education — $27.5K, 37 credits, Hybrid
  • Ph.D., Nutrition Sciences — $46.5K resident, 72 credits, Campus

Entry-point triage is the defining feature. Which of the five master’s tracks you may apply to is decided by what you already hold: a DPD verification statement, a completed internship, five prerequisite sciences, or a science degree for the thesis track.

The undergraduate route to the dietitian pathway is a certificate holding ACEND candidacy rather than full accreditation, and the Dietitian Education Program accepts no transfer credit of any kind.

Full University of Alabama at Birmingham profile

Samford University

Birmingham. The Department of Nutrition and Dietetics is the unusual case of a school running both ACEND graduate architectures side by side.

  • B.S., Nutrition and Dietetics — $176.5K, 128 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • B.S., Culinary and Wellness Nutrition Management — $175.2K, 128 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • M.S., Nutrition — $32.2K–$33.2K, 33–34 credits, 1–2 years, Online
  • M.S., Dietetics Concentration — $51.1K, 48 credits, 2 years, Hybrid
  • Certificate, Dietetic Internship — $24.4K, 25 credits, 16 months, Hybrid

The Dietetics Concentration admits a student to the entire pathway in one decision with supervised practice embedded, while the traditional internship is cheaper but runs on twenty seats a year. Both graduate routes place students nationwide, so neither requires moving to Birmingham.

The Dietetics Concentration accepts no transfer credit and no credit for prior learning, and neither graduate program issues an I-20.

Full Samford University profile

Oakwood University

Huntsville. The Department of Nutrition and Dietetics holds every stage of the dietitian pathway inside one accreditation running to 2030.

  • B.S., Dietetics — $96.4K, 120 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • B.S., Nutrition with Vegetarian Culinary Emphasis — $96.4K, 121 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • M.P.H., Nutrition and Wellness — $27.3K, 42 credits, 22–24 months, Online
  • Certificate, Distance Dietetic Internship — $13.0K, 24 credits, 10–12 months, Hybrid

Plant-based nutrition is the curriculum rather than a module, taught as required content in the dietetics core and extended into a 38-credit vegetarian culinary major. The department also states an explicit mission to increase the number of minority providers in dietetics.

Interns arrange their own sites and preceptors, and a 75 percent exit examination stands between coursework and completion in all three programs.

Full Oakwood University profile

Tuskegee University

Tuskegee. The Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences is a land-grant food science department that houses a dietetics track, not the other way round.

  • B.S., Food and Nutritional Sciences — $109.0K, 123–125 credits, 4 years, Campus, six options including Food Science, Nutritional Science, Dietetics and Public Health Nutrition
  • B.S. dual degree with Biology — 4 years and two summers, Campus
  • M.S., Food Science and Nutritional Science — $42.1K, 30 credits, 1.5 years, Campus

The department carries two separate programmatic approvals: ACEND for the dietetics option and the Institute of Food Technologists for food science. The senior food science year is a genuine engineering sequence, and an industry advisory board supplies internships and scholarships.

Only one of the six bachelor’s options is accredited toward the dietitian credential, and Tuskegee runs no supervised practice program of any kind.

Full Tuskegee University profile

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville. Jax State runs nutrition through the Department of Kinesiology at every level, and that structure decides what each credential is worth.

  • B.S., Exercise Science and Wellness, Nutrition Science concentration — $43.2K resident, 120 credits, 4 years, Campus
  • Graduate Certificate, Physical Education – Nutrition — $5.3K resident, 12 credits, 1 year
  • M.S.E., Physical Education, Nutrition concentration — $13.3K resident, 30 credits, 1.5 years

The performance orientation is structural rather than marketing: exercise physiology, biomechanics and fitness testing are required inside the accredited dietetics coursework, and the graduate concentration aims at the ISSN sport nutrition certification. The 12-credit certificate stacks fully into the master’s and waives the undergraduate GPA threshold when completed at a 3.0.

Jax State publishes no delivery format for either graduate program, which matters because fully online students pay the in-state rate at both levels.

Full Jacksonville State University profile


Bachelor’s Degrees in Nutrition in Alabama

Ten bachelor’s degrees are on offer, and only one of them is delivered fully online: the University of Alabama’s B.S. in Food and Nutrition. Published four-year costs run from $43,200 for a Jacksonville State resident to $176,500 at Samford, a four-fold spread driven almost entirely by public versus private status. Seven of the ten carry ACEND accreditation for didactic coursework, though UAB’s is a certificate in candidacy rather than a fully accredited program; the other three are nutrition degrees that do not start the dietitian pathway.

Program School Est. Cost Format ACEND Didactic
B.S., Exercise Science and Wellness, Nutrition Science Jacksonville State $43.2K res / $86.4K non-res Campus Yes
B.S., Food and Nutrition University of Alabama $47.9K flat Online Yes
B.S., Nutrition Sciences UAB $52.1K res / $129.9K non-res Campus Candidacy, via certificate
B.S., Nutrition, Dietetics option Auburn $54.3K res / $150.4K non-res Campus Yes
B.S., Nutrition, Pre-Health option Auburn $54.3K res / $150.4K non-res Campus No
B.S., Dietetics Oakwood $96.4K flat Campus Yes
B.S., Nutrition, Vegetarian Culinary emphasis Oakwood $96.4K flat Campus No
B.S., Food and Nutritional Sciences Tuskegee $109.0K flat Campus Dietetics option only
B.S., Culinary and Wellness Nutrition Management Samford $175.2K flat Campus No
B.S., Nutrition and Dietetics Samford $176.5K flat Campus Yes

No school profiled here offers an associate degree in nutrition, so a two-year entry point does not exist in this set.


Master’s Degrees in Nutrition in Alabama

The master’s level is where the dietitian decision now gets made, because since January 2024 the credential requires a graduate degree. Four of the ten master’s programs embed supervised practice and three do not lead to the credential at all, with the remaining three sitting outside dietetics entirely. The clearest pattern is the premium: at all three schools that offer both, the RD-bearing master’s costs meaningfully more than the plain one — $12,200 more at Alabama, $9,600 at Auburn and $18,900 at Samford.

Program School Est. Cost Format RD Pathway
M.S.E., Physical Education, Nutrition concentration Jacksonville State $13.3K res / $21.6K non-res Not stated No
M.S., Human Nutrition University of Alabama $14.4K flat Online or Campus No
M.S., Nutrition Auburn $17.6K flat Online No
M.S., Nutrition Sciences (five tracks) UAB $22.3K–$43.2K flat Online or Hybrid Yes, through two of the five tracks
M.S. with Coordinated Program in Dietetics University of Alabama $26.6K res / $74.6K non-res Hybrid Yes
M.S. with Dietetic Internship Auburn $27.2K flat Hybrid Yes
M.P.H., Nutrition and Wellness Oakwood $27.3K flat Online Not on its own
M.S., Nutrition Samford $32.2K–$33.2K flat Online No
M.S., Food Science and Nutritional Science Tuskegee $42.1K flat Campus No
M.S., Dietetics Concentration Samford $51.1K flat Hybrid Yes

Doctoral Programs in Nutrition in Alabama

Three public universities run doctorates, all on campus and none a route to the dietitian credential. Residency is the dominant cost variable at this level, roughly tripling the bill in every case.

  • Ph.D., Nutrition Sciences, University of Alabama — $38.4K resident or $110.4K non-resident, 54 credits minimum, 3 years, Campus
  • Ph.D., Nutrition, Auburn — $45.6K resident or $125.5K non-resident, 60 credits minimum, Campus
  • Ph.D., Nutrition Sciences, UAB — $46.5K resident or $114.9K non-resident, 72 credits, Campus

Alabama’s doctorate sits in a department that also runs a Coordinated Program, while Auburn’s is backed by the department that owns its internship, so both offer research assistantships alongside clinical infrastructure. UAB’s is the largest at 72 credits and the most research-bound: two papers must be published in peer-reviewed journals, one with the student as first author, before the dissertation can be defended.


Graduate Certificates and Dietetic Internships in Alabama

Five short graduate credentials exist, and three of them do the one thing the state is short of: supervised practice hours. Oakwood’s distance internship supplies those hours at $13,000, roughly half what Samford charges, though Oakwood interns locate their own preceptors while Samford arranges placement.

  • Certificate, Distance Dietetic Internship, Oakwood — $13.0K, 24 credits, 10–12 months, Hybrid, supplies supervised practice
  • Certificate, Dietetic Internship, Samford — $24.4K, 25 credits, 16 months, Hybrid, supplies supervised practice, 20 seats a year
  • Graduate Certificate, Physical Education – Nutrition, Jacksonville State — $5.3K resident or $8.6K non-resident, 12 credits, 1 year
  • Graduate Certificate, Nutrition for Community Health, UAB — $10.3K resident or $25.5K non-resident, 16 credits, format not stated
  • Graduate Certificate, Dietitian Education, UAB — $27.5K, 37 credits including 24 of practicum, Hybrid, supplies supervised practice

UAB’s Dietitian Education certificate is open only to students already in its Lifestyle Management master’s track, and that stacked route runs 73 credits against 58 for entering the Dietitian Education Program directly, roughly $11,200 more for the same exam eligibility. Jacksonville State’s certificate is not a dietetics credential and supplies no practice hours; it functions as an admissions on-ramp, stacking into the master’s and waiving the undergraduate GPA threshold when completed at a 3.0.


How to Choose a Nutrition Program in Alabama

Whether the school finishes the credential or hands you off

This is the first question in Alabama, because the state splits four to two. The University of Alabama, Auburn, Samford and Oakwood each run supervised practice, so the didactic-to-internship transition where most candidates stall happens inside the institution. Tuskegee and Jacksonville State issue a verification statement and stop, which means applying to an internship elsewhere in a national match.

Whether supervised practice requires moving

Four schools supply practice hours and they are not interchangeable on geography. Samford and Oakwood place students nationwide, so the practice year can be done from where you already live. Auburn assigns rotations inside a roughly 90-mile radius and Alabama’s Coordinated Program is campus-based in Tuscaloosa, so both require living locally regardless of how the coursework is delivered. UAB splits the difference: its Dietitian Education practicum can be arranged anywhere in the United States, while its separate Clinical Track internship uses four fixed Alabama sites.

Cost architecture, not sticker price

Alabama’s two flagships price distance study flat: UA charges $399 and $480 per credit to everyone, and Auburn charges $533 per online graduate credit and $27,240 for the internship program, with no residency premium at either. Jacksonville State goes further and gives fully online students the in-state rate at both levels. UAB inverts it: online graduate courses bill at a flat $744 to everyone, which is $98 per credit more than its in-state campus rate and $852 less than its non-resident one. The three private schools charge one rate to everyone by default, but the sticker is far higher, and Auburn’s undergraduate non-resident rate nearly triples the resident figure.

Where you are entering from

Career changers with an unrelated bachelor’s have three real options and they work differently. Samford’s Dietetics Concentration admits directly but accepts no transfer credit or credit for prior learning, UA expects most people in its M.S.-plus-DPD route to enrol in the undergraduate major first to clear prerequisites, and Auburn requires a verification statement in hand before internship registration. Jacksonville State’s graduate certificate is the only published route back for an applicant whose undergraduate GPA falls below the threshold.

Whether a single annual intake fits your timeline

Intake cadence decides how long a misstep costs you in this state. Alabama’s Coordinated Program admits once a year on a February 1 deadline and Auburn’s internship starts once a year in summer, so a missed application means waiting twelve months. Samford’s Dietetics Concentration runs fall and spring cycles, and Jacksonville State sets no entrance exam at any level.

What “nutrition” means at each school

The word covers four different things across these six departments. Tuskegee is a food science department, Jacksonville State runs nutrition through kinesiology, Oakwood builds everything on plant-based nutrition, Samford threads business and culinary coursework through both bachelor’s degrees, and UAB is a metabolism and obesity research department attached to an academic medical center. Read the department name before the degree name, because it predicts the curriculum better.


Nutrition Licensure and Credentials in Alabama

Alabama licenses dietitians and nutritionists under the Dietetics/Nutrition Practice Act of 1989, administered by the State Board of Examiners for Dietetics/Nutrition Practice. The act protects the titles dietitian and nutritionist, so practising or advertising under either without a license is not permitted. Licensure requires passing the Commission on Dietetic Registration examination, which since January 1, 2024 requires a master’s degree at minimum alongside accredited supervised practice.

Licenses expire on September 30 of odd-numbered years, and reciprocity is available to dietitians licensed in states with standards the board judges equivalent. Verify current fees and requirements with the Alabama Board of Examiners for Dietetics/Nutrition Practice before applying anywhere.


Before You Apply

Three things in Alabama are worth confirming in writing rather than reading off a program page. Get the billable credit count for Auburn’s internship, since its own pages disagree by about $3,200, and get the applicable tuition rate for Alabama’s Coordinated Program, where the distance and main-campus rate lines differ by tens of thousands of dollars across 57 credits.

Ask any school that is not running supervised practice what its graduates’ internship placement rate actually is, and whether the figure counts all eligible graduates or only those who chose to apply. The distinction changes the number substantially, and it is the number that decides whether a verification statement becomes a credential.