The Cleveland area and broader Ohio region provide a rich landscape of nutrition education opportunities, from traditional undergraduate programs to innovative graduate specializations. With options ranging from prestigious private research universities to affordable public institutions, students can find programs that match their academic goals, financial circumstances, and career aspirations.
Here’s a comprehensive analysis to of the best schools within 50 miles of Cleveland.
2027 Best Nutrition Degree Programs in the Cleveland Area
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH - Public 4-Year - bgsu.edu
Bachelor's - Nutrition Sciences
Campus Based - Visit Website
Bowling Green State University's Bachelor of Science in Nutrition Sciences delivers a research-intensive curriculum grounded in biochemistry, physiology, and food science. Students engage in immersive laboratory work and faculty-guided research projects, exploring topics such as experimental foods, nutritional biochemistry, and life cycle nutrition. The program builds a strong scientific foundation for careers in food science, product development, quality control, or advancement to medical, dental, or graduate school. With a remarkably low 0.4% unemployment rate among nutrition sciences graduates, this degree offers strong employment prospects. Modern facilities and community engagement opportunities enrich the learning experience, while expert mentorship prepares students for advanced study or immediate impact in food and health industries.
- Immersive laboratory experiences
- Innovative research opportunities
- Expert faculty mentorship
- Pathway to advanced credentials
- Excellent preparation for medical or dental school
- Low unemployment rate: 0.4%
- Research-focused curriculum
- Careers as nutrition specialists and food scientists
Master's - Master of Food and Nutrition
Online Learning - Visit Website
Bowling Green State University's Master of Food and Nutrition (MFN) is a 31-credit graduate program offered fully online or on campus, designed for students seeking advanced expertise in nutrition science and practice. Coursework covers macronutrient metabolism, disease prevention, community nutrition education, evidence-based practice, and research methods. Students choose between a thesis and non-thesis track, with options including an applied project, comprehensive exam, or a dietetic internship portfolio for those pursuing Registered Dietitian Nutritionist credentials. The program prepares graduates for careers in clinical nutrition, public health, the food industry, research, or further doctoral study. Its flexibility and focus on integrating science with advocacy equip students to address complex nutritional challenges and promote health across diverse populations.
- 31 total credit hours
- Thesis or capstone option
- Online or on-campus study
- Dietetic internship portfolio option
- Prepares for RDN credential
- Thesis and non-thesis plans
Master's - Master of Food and Nutrition (Public Health)
Online Learning - Visit Website
Bowling Green State University's Master of Food and Nutrition with a Public Health concentration offers a 31-credit curriculum blending core nutrition science with public health-focused electives. Available fully online, this flexible program allows students to tailor studies to career goals such as community health, nutrition policy, and wellness programming. Learning outcomes emphasize integrating nutrition in health and disease, designing community education initiatives, and advocating for evidence-based nutrition policy. Students may complete a thesis or non-thesis capstone, including an applied project, comprehensive exam, or portfolio for the dietetic internship pathway. Graduates emerge prepared for roles in community health agencies, public health departments, policy organizations, and clinical settings, with strong research and communication skills suitable for leadership and further study.
- 31 total credit hours
- Thesis or capstone option
- Online or on-campus delivery
- Pathway to RDN credential
Master's - Master of Food and Nutrition
Campus Based - Visit Website
Bowling Green State University's on-campus Master of Food and Nutrition program prepares graduates to address pressing nutrition challenges through a 31-credit curriculum in nutrition science, community nutrition, and clinical nutrition. Students customize their experience with electives such as sports nutrition, lifecycle nutrition, and weight management, and choose a thesis or non-thesis capstone (applied project or comprehensive exam). The program boasts a 100% employment rate within one year and offers a pathway to Registered Dietitian Nutritionist credentials via ACEND-accredited dietetic internships. Full-time and part-time options accommodate working professionals, with graduate assistantships available. Real-world experience comes through community partnerships including the Falcon Food Pantry and BGSU Nutrition Clinic, while a Peace Corps Fellowship option adds global opportunities. Distinguished faculty and flexible learning formats make this program ideal for future nutrition leaders.
- Complete in 1.5 academic years
- 31 total credit hours
- Full-time and part-time options
- 100% job placement rate
- Prerequisite courses required
- Thesis or capstone option
- Prepares for Registered Dietitian
- Scholarships available
- 100% employment rate within 12 months
- Pathway to become a Registered Dietitian
Ohio University
Athens, OH - Public 4-Year - ohio.edu
Bachelor's - Applied Nutrition Major (Dietetics)
Campus Based - Visit Website
The Applied Nutrition major with a Dietetics concentration at Ohio University leads to a Bachelor of Science in Food and Nutrition Sciences (B.S.F.N.S.). The hands-on, campus-based curriculum blends core courses in nutrient metabolism, food science, lifespan nutrition, and community nutrition with practical training in food production, sanitation, and safety. Students also complete coursework in public health, management, psychology, and public speaking. The dietetics concentration prepares graduates to pursue careers as registered dietitians, nutrition educators, or food service managers. With three concentration options and 18 common core courses, the program allows tailored study. Small class sizes and a required professional development course ensure personalized guidance.
- 3 concentration options
- 18 common core courses
- Professional development course required
- Food sanitation and safety training
- Leads to B.S.F.N.S. degree
- Public speaking course included
- Management course included
Bachelor's - Nutrition Science Major (Pre-Health Professional)
Campus Based - Visit Website
The Nutrition Science Major with a Pre-Health Professional concentration at Ohio University prepares students for graduate-level health programs. The curriculum includes nutrient metabolism, medical nutrition therapy, nutritional biochemistry, and food science, while developing clinical assessment skills and the ability to integrate nutrition in disease prevention and treatment. This 123-credit-hour program requires coursework in biology, chemistry, anatomy, physiology, and microbiology, and assigns a faculty advisor for course planning. Interprofessional education is a key component, fostering collaboration in healthcare teams. Ideal for aspiring physicians, physician assistants, dentists, pharmacists, or nutrition researchers, the program has no selective admission requirements, making it accessible to motivated students seeking careers in nutrition education and policy.
- 123 total credit hours
- Prepares for graduate health programs
- Learn nutritional biochemistry
- Develop clinical assessment skills
- Interprofessional education required
- No selective admission requirements
- Faculty advisor assigned
- Courses in medical nutrition therapy
- Opportunities in nutrition research
Bachelor's - Nutrition Science Major
Campus Based - Visit Website
Ohio University's Nutrition Science major offers a strong science foundation for students aiming at graduate health programs. Coursework covers medical nutrition therapy, nutritional biochemistry, community nutrition, and nutritional genomics, along with clinical assessment skills. Interprofessional education allows collaboration with students from other health fields. The 123-credit-hour curriculum includes required science courses in biology, chemistry, and physics. The program emphasizes portfolio development to showcase skills, with small class sizes and dedicated advisors supporting student success. Graduates are prepared for careers in nutrition research, education, or policy, and for admission to medical school, physician assistant programs, dentistry, or pharmacy.
- 123 total credit hours
- Prepares for graduate health programs
- Medical nutrition therapy courses
- Clinical assessment skills developed
- Interprofessional education requirement
- Nutritional genomics concepts covered
- Community nutrition and counseling
- Portfolio development for careers
- Strong science foundation required
Master's - Master of Science in Food and Nutrition Sciences
Campus Based - Visit Website
Ohio University's Master of Science in Food and Nutrition Sciences is a flexible, multidisciplinary program that lets students design their own concentration, with research opportunities in neurodegeneration, diabetes (through the OHIO Diabetes Institute), and fat metabolism. The program welcomes applicants from diverse academic backgrounds, including those without an undergraduate nutrition degree. U.S. News & World Report recognizes Ohio University as the best value among Ohio's public universities. Graduate career paths include dietetics, entrepreneurship, and the medical field. Students benefit from financial aid availability plus professional development support like academic advising and writing assistance, ensuring readiness for advanced roles in nutrition science and research.
- Financial aid available
- Design your own concentration
- Diabetes research with OHIO Diabetes Institute
- Best value among Ohio public universities
- Career paths in dietetics, entrepreneurship, medical field
- Professional development: advising and writing assistance
Master's - Combined Master of Science and Dietetic Internship
Campus Based - Visit Website
Ohio University's Combined Master of Science and Dietetic Internship (MSDI) is a four-semester, ACEND-accredited program preparing graduates for the national Registered Dietitian examination. The curriculum combines graduate-level nutrition coursework with hands-on internship rotations in Columbus or Athens, Ohio. Each student completes a graduate project in an area of interest. With a small cohort of only 10 interns annually, participants receive personalized mentoring from faculty like program director Kim Orben. Graduates earn a Master of Science degree and are eligible for licensure as registered dietitian nutritionists. Prerequisite DPD coursework and a capstone are required. Program outcomes data, available upon request, indicate strong preparation for the RD exam and careers in clinical nutrition, community health, or food service management.
- ACEND accredited
- 4-Semester program
- Prerequisite courses required
- Capstone required
- Prepares for Registered Dietitian examination
- Accepts only 10 interns annually
- Internship rotations in Columbus or Athens
- Program outcomes data available upon request
- Prerequisite: DPD coursework required
- Graduate project in area of interest
Miami University
Oxford, OH - Public 4-Year - miamioh.edu
Bachelor's - Nutrition (Dietetics)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Miami University's Bachelor of Science in Nutrition with a Dietetics concentration offers an ACEND-accredited curriculum covering food science, metabolism, medical nutrition therapy, and community nutrition. Students gain hands-on experience in advanced laboratories and field placements, with access to the Institute for Food Farm and the Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Graduates achieve a 91% pass rate on the registration exam and a 100% placement rate, preparing for careers in clinical dietetics, community health, food service management, and wellness. Military-friendly with scholarships and financial aid available, this program provides a direct pathway to becoming a registered dietitian nutritionist.
- ACEND accredited
- 2 concentration options
- 91% licensure pass rate
- 100% job placement rate
- Prepares for CDR credentialing exam for dietitian nutritionists
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Field experience in dietetics
- State-of-the-art nutrition laboratories
- Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Bachelor's - Nutrition, B.S. (Dietetics)
Campus Based - Visit Website
The Nutrition B.S. with a Dietetics concentration at Miami University delivers an ACEND-accredited, licensure-ready curriculum that emphasizes macronutrient and micronutrient metabolism, global nutrition, and counseling skills. Students learn in state-of-the-art labs, complete field experiences, and can participate in the Institute for Food Farm and the Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. With a 91% pass rate on the registration exam and a 100% graduate placement rate into supervised practice or graduate programs, this degree prepares students for careers as registered dietitian nutritionists or in allied health fields. Scholarships and financial aid support student success.
- ACEND accredited
- 2 concentration options
- 91% licensure pass rate
- Prepares for registration examination
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- State-of-the-art nutrition laboratories
- Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
- Field experience in dietetics
- Institute for Food Farm
Master's - Master of Science in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health
Campus Based - Visit Website
Miami University's Master of Science in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health provides an interdisciplinary education combining exercise science, nutrition, and public health. Students choose between concentrations in Exercise and Health Science or Public Health Education and Health Promotion, with thesis and non-thesis options available. The 30-credit program can be completed in 12–18 months with spring, summer, or fall starts, and costs $726 per credit. A unique combined MS/ACEND-accredited Dietetic Internship pathway allows graduates to sit for the Registered Dietitian exam. With an 89% completion rate and top-ranked department, this flexible program suits working professionals seeking careers as dietitians, health educators, or wellness specialists.
- 2 concentration options
- $726 per credit
- Complete in 12 - 18 Months
- 30 total credit hours
- Starts spring/summer/fall
- Thesis or capstone option
- Financial aid available
- 89% degree completion rate in 1-2 years
- Thesis or non-thesis track available
- Combined MS and Dietetic Internship option
Master's - Master of Science in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health (Exercise and Health Science)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Focusing on the Exercise and Health Science concentration, Miami University's MS in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health explores physiological and psychological responses to environmental, nutritional, and activity conditions. The 30-credit curriculum includes coursework in exercise physiology, nutrition, health psychology, and human performance, with thesis or non-thesis tracks tailored to research or professional goals. Graduates become exercise physiologists, health coaches, fitness specialists, or wellness coordinators in clinical, corporate, or community settings. Housed in Ohio's #1 ranked kinesiology department, the program offers flexible 12–18 month completion, spring/summer/fall starts, and graduate assistantships, as well as a combined bachelor's-to-master's pathway.
- 2 concentration options
- $726 per credit
- Complete in 12 - 18 Months
- 30 total credit hours
- Starts spring/summer/fall
- Thesis or capstone option
- #1 Kinesiology department in Ohio
- 89% complete in 1-2 years
- Thesis or non-thesis track
- Combined bachelor's and master's program
Master's - Master of Science in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health (Public Health Education and Health Promotion)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Designed for the Public Health Education and Health Promotion concentration, this MS program from Miami University delves into psychosocial and behavioral factors affecting health across the lifespan. Students learn to design, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in community, clinical, and public health settings. The 30-credit curriculum blends nutrition and kinesiology science with health education theory, behavior change, and program planning, with thesis or non-thesis options. Careers include health educators, community health specialists, and wellness coordinators. Flexible start dates (spring, summer, fall) and a 12–18 month timeline accommodate working professionals, while the top-ranked department and 89% completion rate ensure strong outcomes.
- 2 concentration options
- $726 per credit
- Complete in 12 - 18 Months
- 30 total credit hours
- Starts spring/summer/fall
- Thesis or capstone option
- 89% completion rate in 1-2 years
- Focus on psychosocial and behavioral health
- Next start date: Spring 2026
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH - Private 4-year - case.edu
Master's - MS in Nutrition
Campus Based - Visit Website
The MS in Nutrition at Case Western Reserve University is a flexible, interdisciplinary graduate program open to students with or without a nutrition background. It requires 30 graduate credits, including a core course in Advanced Human Nutrition, with extensive electives to tailor studies toward individual career goals. Full-time and part-time enrollment is available, allowing completion in one to two years. Distinctive pathways include a post-baccalaureate premedical track approved by the AAMC, an integrated dietetic internship for clinical practice, and accelerated BS/MS options. Graduates are prepared for advanced roles in nutrition, healthcare, research, and dietetics, or as a foundation for medical school. Prerequisites in chemistry, biology, and biochemistry ensure readiness. Entrance exam requirements are not specified.
- Complete in one to two years
- 30 total credit hours
- Full-time and part-time options
- Prerequisite courses required
- Post-bacc premedical program approved by AAMC
- No undergraduate nutrition degree required
- Combine with dietetic internship
- Integrated BS/MS option available
Master's - Combined Dietetic Internship/Master's Degree Program (Diabetes Prevention and Management, Culinary Medicine and Counseling)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The Combined Dietetic Internship/Master's Degree Program at Case Western Reserve University integrates academic coursework with hands-on clinical training at the Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center. This 17-month, non-thesis hybrid program requires 30 semester hours and culminates in a comprehensive exam. The curriculum focuses on diabetes prevention and management, pediatric nutrition, and public health, with culinary medicine and counseling woven into the training. Students complete rotations four days per week and attend classes on Mondays and evenings. Designed for those with a DPD verification statement, the program offers a $7,000 tuition assistance memorandum and individualized academic advising. Graduates are eligible to sit for the RDN exam. No entrance exam is specified for admission.
- Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics accredited
- 17-Month program
- 30 total credit hours
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- Capstone required
- Financial aid available
- Clinical rotations at VA Medical Center
- Designated academic advisor
- Emphasis on diabetes and research
- DPD verification required
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH - Public 4-Year - osu.edu
Master's - Master of Dietetics and Nutrition
Campus Based - Visit Website
Ohio State's Master of Dietetics and Nutrition is a two-year clinical program built on the ACEND Future Education Model. As the nation's first medical dietetics program, founded in 1961, it blends rigorous coursework with immersive supervised practice. Students concentrate on applied medical nutrition therapy and complete a graduate project or case study. Jointly offered by the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences and the College of Education and Human Ecology, the program boasts an 80% licensure pass rate and prepares graduates for the CDR credentialing exam to become RDNs. Entrance exam requirements are not specified. Graduates pursue careers in clinical nutrition, community health, and food service management, with a strong history of high employment outcomes.
- Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics accredited
- 2-Year program
- 80% licensure pass rate
- Capstone required
- Prepares for CDR credentialing exam for dietitian nutritionists
- First medical dietetics program in US (1961)
- Eligible for RDN exam upon graduation
- Emphasis on applied medical nutrition therapy
- Joint program of two colleges
- Competency-based ACEND Future Education Model
Master's - Master of Science in Human Nutrition
Campus Based - Visit Website
Ohio State's Master of Science in Human Nutrition delivers a research-intensive curriculum exploring nutrient-gene interactions, precision nutrition, and diet's role in disease risk. Students engage in a hands-on research project and can choose from 13 concentration options, including obesity management, sports nutrition, and food security. The program offers both thesis and capstone tracks, preparing graduates for careers in research, healthcare, and public health. Led by internationally recognized faculty, the on-campus program provides access to cutting-edge laboratories and interdisciplinary collaborations. No entrance exam requirement is stated in the program details. This flexible degree also lays a strong foundation for licensure or certification in Ohio, appealing to students interested in basic science and applied nutrition.
- 13 concentration options
- Thesis or capstone option
- Research project integrated into curriculum
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH - Public 4-Year - uc.edu
Bachelor's - Nutrition & Dietetics
Campus Based - Visit Website
The University of Cincinnati's Bachelor of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics offers ACEND-accredited training with a strong science foundation. It includes three concentration options and a required 3.0 minimum GPA in DPD courses. Students complete medical nutrition therapy, food science, and health promotion coursework, along with supervised practice internships. The curriculum prepares graduates for the CDR credentialing exam and RDN designation, with opportunities to pursue an accelerated five-year BS/MS pathway. Median earnings for RDN graduates are approximately $72,000, with careers in hospitals, clinics, schools, athletic departments, and private practice. The program is eligible for dietetic internship placement. No explicit ACT/SAT entrance exam requirement is stated, so prospective students should verify current admissions standards.
- ACEND accredited
- 3 concentration options
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- $72,000 median earnings
- the average salary is about $72,000
- Prepares for Commission on Dietetic Registration credentialing exam
- Accelerated 5-year BS/MS pathway
- Prepares for RDN credential
- Includes supervised practice internship
- Careers in hospitals, clinics, and schools
Bachelor's - Nutrition & Dietetics (Community Nutrition)
Campus Based - Visit Website
This ACEND-accredited bachelor's concentration in Community Nutrition readies students for public health leadership. Coursework blends medical nutrition therapy, food science, health promotion, and disease prevention, with experiential learning in community settings. The program meets Didactic Program in Dietetics requirements, forming the first step toward Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN) certification. Students may select from three concentrations and must maintain a 3.0 GPA, while an accelerated BS+MS option allows completion in five years. Graduates can pursue RDN, NDTR, or CDM credential pathways, with average RDN salaries around $72,000. Career opportunities span hospitals, schools, athletic departments, and public health agencies. The program does not specify an ACT/SAT requirement, so applicants are advised to confirm admission testing policies.
- Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
- 3 concentration options
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- First step toward RDN credential
- RDN average salary $72,000
- Accelerated BS+MS in 5 years
- Careers in diverse settings
Bachelor's - Nutrition & Dietetics (Sports Nutrition)
Campus Based - Visit Website
This sports nutrition concentration within the University of Cincinnati's BS in Nutrition and Dietetics integrates nutrition science with athletic performance. Students examine how nutrition impacts recovery, endurance, and overall fitness, preparing them for careers with athletes and active clients. The ACEND-accredited curriculum includes medical nutrition therapy and food systems, with a specialization in sports nutrition and a minimum 3.0 GPA in DPD courses. Graduates are prepared for the CDR credentialing exam and RDN pathway, and an accelerated five-year BS+MS track is available. Career settings include hospitals, athletic departments, and health clubs, with an average RDN salary of about $72,000. No ACT/SAT entrance exam requirement is mentioned; prospective students should verify admissions requirements directly.
- ACEND accredited
- 3 concentration options
- Explores sports nutrition specialization
- Pathway to Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
- Accelerated BS+MS in 5 years
- Prepares for CDR credentialing exam
- Career settings: hospitals, athletic departments
- Average RDN salary ~$72,000
- Minimum 3.0 GPA in DPD courses
University of Akron
Akron, OH - Public 4-Year - uakron.edu
Master's - Dietetics Graduate Program, MPH
Online Learning - Visit Website
The University of Akron's Dietetics Graduate Program offers an online-friendly Master of Public Health degree that is ACEND-accredited and prepares students for the RDN credential. The curriculum covers community nutrition, food systems, and health behavior change, combined with supervised experiential learning rotations. Graduates pursue careers as clinical dietitians, public health nutritionists, or wellness coordinators. Admission requires a bachelor's degree, prerequisite coursework, and two letters of reference—no entrance exam such as the GRE is required. Proctored exams use Respondus Lockdown, and a 3.0 GPA is needed for graduation. Financial aid and scholarships are available, but international students are not accepted. Graduates are ready to sit for the CDR credentialing exam.
- ACEND accredited
- 2 letters of recommendation (minimum)
- Prerequisite courses required
- Prepares for CDR credentialing exam for dietitian nutritionists
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Prepares for RDN credential
- Supervised experiential learning rotations
- Online testing with Respondus Lockdown
- 3.0 GPA required for graduation
Bluffton University
Bluffton, OH - Private 4-year - bluffton.edu
Bachelor's - Nutrition and Dietetics
Campus Based - Visit Website
Bluffton University offers a campus-based Bachelor's in Nutrition and Dietetics in Bluffton, Ohio, designed to prepare students for careers in food and health. The four-year curriculum covers clinical nutrition, food science, and diet-wellness connections, with hands-on training in the Wannemacher Food Science Lab at the Knowlton Science Center (opened 2023). Students can pursue competitive internships, including at Purdue University, and may continue into the Master of Nutrition and Dietetics program, completing 1,000 supervised learning hours for RDN eligibility. Program highlights include a sports nutrition pathway, a nutrition minor, financial aid, and prerequisite courses. Admission ACT/SAT requirements are not stated in the provided information.
- Prerequisite courses required
- Financial aid available
- Prepares students to become RDN
- Four-year course plan provided
- Labs in Knowlton Science Center, opened 2023
- Pathway to Master of Nutrition and Dietetics
- Requires 1,000 hours supervised learning for RDN
- Competitive dietetics internship opportunities available
- Sports nutrition career pathway offered
- Nutrition minor available for non-majors
Ohio Wesleyan University
Delaware, OH - Private 4-year - owu.edu
Bachelor's - Nutrition Major
Campus Based - Visit Website
Ohio Wesleyan University offers a Bachelor's in Nutrition with a distinctive interdisciplinary liberal arts approach. The curriculum integrates nutritional science, human physiology, metabolism, and socio-cultural food perspectives while examining policy influences. Students gain practical experience through a required 120-hour apprenticeship in community health, food advocacy, or industry settings. Travel-Learning Courses explore food traditions in Italy, and the Summer Scholarship and Research Program provides paid faculty-mentored research opportunities. Small classes foster collaborative learning, and partnerships like Cooking Matters connect students with hands-on community cooking labs. Graduates are prepared for careers in community health, health education, food justice, and further study in public health or dietetics. This flexible program emphasizes individualized learning to make a meaningful impact on dietary health.
- 120 clinical hours
- Travel-Learning Courses to Italy
- Summer Scholarship and Research Program
- Small class sizes
- Cooking Matters community program
- Prepares for dietetics graduate programs
- Careers in community health and health education
- Faculty mentor research
- Hands-on cooking with food labs
Columbus State Community College
Columbus, OH - Public 4-Year - cscc.edu
Associate - Dietetic Technician
Campus Based - Visit Website
Columbus State Community College's Dietetic Technician program, an Associate of Applied Science, prepares graduates for dual career paths as a Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) or Nutrition and Dietetics Technician Registered (NDTR). The ACEND-accredited curriculum blends classroom instruction with 450 supervised practice hours in clinical settings, covering foodservice management, medical nutrition therapy, and community nutrition. Small cohorts of 20 and part-time options create a supportive, career-focused learning environment. Graduates are eligible to sit for the DTR national exam and pursue roles in hospitals, long-term care facilities, and community health. A seamless transfer pathway to The Ohio State University supports those aiming to become Registered Dietitian Nutritionists.
- Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
- 2-Year program
- Full-time and part-time options
- 450 clinical hours
- Prepares for DTR National Exam
- Prepares for CDM and NDTR credentials
- 450 supervised practice hours
- Small cohorts of 20 students
- Pathway to Ohio State University
Associate - Hospitality Management - Nutrition and Dietetics Major AAS
Campus Based - Visit Website
Columbus State Community College's Nutrition and Dietetics AAS is a five-semester, 65-credit ACEND-accredited program starting in autumn. A supplemental application by April 1, 2.5 minimum GPA, and background check are required. Curriculum emphasizes medical nutrition therapy, food principles, anatomy and physiology, and menu management, plus 450 hours of supervised practice in healthcare, community, and foodservice settings. Graduates are prepared for the national CDR exam to become NDTRs and earn ServSafe and ManageFirst certifications. Transfer agreements with Ohio State University and Franklin University enable bachelor's degree completion. Careers include hospitals, schools, WIC programs, nursing homes, and food management companies.
- Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
- 5-Semester program
- 65 total credit hours
- Starts fall
- 2.5 GPA minimum
- 450 clinical hours
- Prepares for CDR exam
- Transfer to Ohio State
- ServSafe certification
- Supplemental application required
Sinclair Community College
Dayton, OH - Public 4-Year - sinclair.edu
Associate - Nutrition and Dietetics Technician
Campus Based - Visit Website
Sinclair Community College offers an Associate of Applied Science in Nutrition and Dietetics Technician, an ACEND-accredited program designed to launch careers as Nutrition and Dietetics Technicians, Registered (NDTR). The curriculum integrates clinical nutrition, community wellness, and foodservice operations, with 600 hours of supervised practice across hospitals, nursing homes, schools, and community centers. Courses include medical nutrition therapy, food science, and motivational interviewing, culminating in a capstone assessment for national credentialing exam readiness. Students can also earn an embedded Dietary Manager certificate. Transfer agreements with University of Dayton, University of Cincinnati, Ohio State University, and Miami University support further education. With full-time and part-time enrollment, hands-on labs, and a 2.0 GPA minimum, the program fosters critical thinking and ethical practice for diverse healthcare settings.
- ACEND, ANFP accredited
- 5-Semester program
- 60 total credit hours
- Full-time and part-time options
- 2.0 GPA minimum
- 600 clinical hours
- Prerequisite courses required
- Capstone required
- Prepares for NDTR
- Financial aid available
Owens Community College
Perrysburg, OH - Public 2-Year - owens.edu
Associate - Nutrition Concentration
Campus Based - Visit Website
Owens Community College’s Nutrition Concentration (AS) offers a hands-on pathway into nutrition careers. Coursework blends anatomy, physiology, and microbiology with practical kitchen and lab training in food preparation, safety, and management. Students complete an applied field experience bridging theory and practice. Graduates are prepared for roles such as nutrition assistant or dietetic technician and may sit for the Certified Dietary Manager exam. The program’s transfer pathway supports advancement into bachelor’s degree programs in dietetics or food science. With a 14:1 student-to-faculty ratio, small classes, and one-on-one mentorship, students receive personalized support. Financial aid and scholarships are available. Ohio employs over 2,340 dietitians, making this an affordable foundation for immediate employment or further study.
- Prepares for Certified Dietary Manager (CDM)
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- 14:1 student-to-faculty ratio
- Small class sizes
- One-on-one mentorship
- Careers: nutrition assistant, dietetic technician
- Transfer pathway to bachelor's degree
- Applied nutrition field experience
- Hands-on kitchen and lab experience
Miami University-Hamilton
Hamilton, OH - Public 4-Year - miamioh.edu
Master's - M.S. in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health (Exercise and Health Science)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Miami University-Hamilton's M.S. in Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Health, with an Exercise and Health Science concentration, blends physiology and psychology in a rigorous interdisciplinary curriculum. This 30-credit program offers thesis and non-thesis tracks, letting students align studies with research or professional goals in exercise physiology, wellness coaching, or health promotion. Flexible spring, summer, or fall start dates allow completion in 12–18 months. The department ranks #1 in Ohio for kinesiology and exercise science, and 89% of admitted students graduate within two years. Small classes and dedicated faculty foster a collaborative environment. Entrance exam requirements are not specified in program materials, though GRE scores may be considered for certain applicants.
- 2 concentration options
- $726 per credit
- Complete in 12 - 18 Months
- 30 total credit hours
- Starts spring/summer/fall
- Thesis or capstone option
- #1 Kinesiology department in Ohio
- 7% job growth for dietitians and nutritionists
- 89% complete degree in 1-2 years
- Combined bachelor's-master's option
Ohio University-Eastern Campus
Saint Clairsville, OH - Public 4-Year - ohio.edu
Bachelor's - Applied Nutrition Major (Dietetics)
Campus Based - Visit Website
At Ohio University Eastern Campus, the Applied Nutrition major with a Dietetics concentration is an ACEND-accredited program that trains students for careers in nutrition counseling, public health, sports nutrition, and food service management. Coursework integrates medical nutrition therapy, anatomy, chemistry, and counseling techniques. Hands-on learning includes dietetic field experience and a nutrition counseling practicum. Graduates may take the NDTR credentialing exam and can advance toward RD/RDN licensure via a combined master's and dietetic internship. The program welcomes students without special prerequisites, and financial aid and scholarships are available. A minimum 2.0 GPA is required in the dietetics track. The university also supports military students.
- ACEND accredited
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Prepares for NDTR credentialing exam
- Pathway to RD/RDN licensure
- Combined MS and Dietetic Internship
- No special prerequisites required
- Minimum 2.0 GPA for graduation
2027 Most Affordable Nutrition Programs in the Cleveland Area
| School Name | Highlights | Annual Estimated Tuition & Fees |
|---|---|---|
| University of Akron |
|
|
| Ohio University-Eastern Campus |
|
|
| Ohio University |
|
|
Choosing the Right School for You in Cleveland
Overview: Clevelands Diverse Nutrition Education Landscape
The Cleveland area and broader Ohio region offer diverse nutrition education pathways ranging from undergraduate bachelor’s programs to specialized master’s degrees, with options spanning public and private institutions. Programs vary from 1-4 years in duration and include campus-based, online, and hybrid formats to accommodate different learning preferences and career goals.
Program Types and Duration:
- Bachelor’s Programs: 4 years (Kent State, Bowling Green State)
- Master’s Programs: 1-2 years (Case Western Reserve, University of Akron)
- Combined Dietetic Internship/Master’s: 17 months (Case Western Reserve)
Format Options:
- Traditional campus-based programs
- Fully online degrees
- Hybrid online/campus combinations
- Accelerated combined programs
Ohio’s nutrition education strengths include ACEND-accredited programs, research university resources, affordable public options, and innovative combined degree pathways. The region offers everything from traditional undergraduate preparation to cutting-edge graduate specializations in diabetes prevention, culinary medicine, and public health nutrition.
Program Overview by Institution
Case Western Reserve University (Private Research Excellence)
Master’s Programs:
- MS in Nutrition: Flexible 1-2 year program (30 credits) with full-time/part-time options
- Combined Dietetic Internship/Master’s: 17-month hybrid program with specializations in Diabetes Prevention/Management and Culinary Medicine/Counseling, includes $7,000 tuition assistance
University of Akron (Public Online Innovation)
- Master of Public Health in Dietetics: ACEND-accredited online program for RDN preparation, meets new master’s degree requirement for dietitian credentialing
Kent State University (Public Traditional Excellence)
- Bachelor of Science in Nutrition: ACEND-accredited undergraduate program with strong scientific foundation, campus-based
Bowling Green State University-Firelands (Public Comprehensive)
- Bachelor of Science in Dietetics: 4-year science-based program with modern facilities, emphasis on diversity and community engagement
Academic Specialization and Career Preparation
For Aspiring Registered Dietitians:
Best Options:
- University of Akron MPH in Dietetics: Online flexibility with ACEND accreditation
- Case Western Combined Program: Accelerated 17-month pathway with clinical practice
- Kent State BS in Nutrition: Traditional undergraduate ACEND-accredited preparation
- Bowling Green State BS in Dietetics: Comprehensive 4-year foundation
For Advanced Nutrition Careers:
Best Options:
- Case Western MS in Nutrition: Research focus with customizable curriculum
- Case Western Combined Program: Specialized concentrations in diabetes and culinary medicine
For Public Health Nutrition:
Best Option:
- University of Akron MPH in Dietetics: Public health focus with nutrition specialization
For Traditional Undergraduate Education:
Best Options:
- Kent State University: Strong scientific foundation with research opportunities
- Bowling Green State University: Comprehensive program with modern facilities
Target Student Populations and Recommendations
Choose Case Western Reserve University if you:
- Want prestigious private university credentials
- Are interested in specialized concentrations (diabetes, culinary medicine)
- Can benefit from the $7,000 tuition assistance in the combined program
- Prefer accelerated pathways (17-month combined program)
- Want flexibility (1-2 year MS program with part-time options)
- Are interested in research and advanced clinical practice
- Can access Cleveland VA Medical Center clinical opportunities
Choose University of Akron if you:
- Need maximum flexibility with online learning
- Want to meet the new master’s degree requirement for RDN credentialing
- Are interested in public health nutrition approaches
- Prefer smaller class sizes with personalized professor interactions
- Are already working and need evening/weekend study options
- Want ACEND accreditation in an online format
- Are focused on community health and epidemiology
Choose Kent State University if you:
- Want traditional campus-based undergraduate education
- Prefer established ACEND-accredited programs
- Are beginning your college journey in nutrition
- Want strong scientific and research foundations
- Are interested in diverse career opportunities after graduation
- Value public university affordability with quality education
- Want preparation for advanced graduate studies
Choose Bowling Green State University-Firelands if you:
- Want comprehensive 4-year dietetics preparation
- Value diversity and inclusion emphasis
- Are interested in community service and research involvement
- Want modern laboratory facilities for hands-on learning
- Need financial aid opportunities
- Prefer smaller campus environment
- Want preparation for graduate studies or direct workforce entry
Program Formats and Learning Styles
Campus-Based Programs:
- Case Western MS in Nutrition: Research university environment
- Kent State BS in Nutrition: Traditional college experience
- Bowling Green State BS in Dietetics: Small campus community
Online Learning:
- University of Akron MPH in Dietetics: Fully online with flexible scheduling
Hybrid Options:
- Case Western Combined Program: Blends online coursework with clinical practice
Cost and Financial Considerations
Private Institution:
- Case Western Reserve: Higher tuition but offers $7,000 tuition assistance for combined program
Public Institutions:
- University of Akron: Public university rates with online accessibility
- Kent State University: Traditional public university affordability
- Bowling Green State: Public education with financial aid availability
Timeline and Degree Progression
Fast-Track Options:
- Case Western Combined Program: 17 months to master’s + internship completion
Traditional Pathways:
- Bachelor’s Programs: 4 years foundational education
- Master’s Programs: 1-2 years advanced training
Flexible Options:
- Case Western MS: Part-time study available
- University of Akron: Online scheduling flexibility
Geographic and Practical Considerations
Cleveland Area Advantages:
- Access to major medical centers (Cleveland VA, Cleveland Clinic area)
- Research opportunities at Case Western Reserve
- Urban internship and job opportunities
Broader Ohio Benefits:
- Multiple ACEND-accredited options
- Range of public and private institutions
- Diverse clinical and community practice settings
Bottom Line Recommendations
For Maximum Flexibility and Innovation: Choose University of Akron’s online MPH in Dietetics for cutting-edge public health nutrition training with complete scheduling flexibility.
For Accelerated Professional Preparation: Select Case Western’s Combined Dietetic Internship/Master’s program for the fastest path to RDN credentials with specialized training and tuition assistance.
For Traditional Excellence: Choose Kent State’s BS in Nutrition for comprehensive undergraduate preparation with strong scientific foundations and ACEND accreditation.
For Research and Customization: Opt for Case Western’s MS in Nutrition for flexible, research-focused graduate education with personalized curriculum options.
For Community-Focused Education: Select Bowling Green State for comprehensive dietetics education with emphasis on diversity, modern facilities, and community engagement.
For Career Changers: University of Akron’s online format accommodates working adults, while Case Western’s combined program offers accelerated credentialing.
Ohio’s nutrition education landscape offers exceptional variety and quality across multiple institutions and formats. Whether you’re seeking traditional undergraduate preparation, innovative online graduate education, or accelerated professional pathways, the Cleveland area and broader Ohio region provide options to match every student’s goals, learning style, and life circumstances. The key is matching your current situation, career timeline, and educational preferences with the appropriate program structure and institutional culture.