Missouri Nutrition Programs & Online Degrees

Missouri provides a range of nutrition degree programs at a variety of costs and durations. A bachelor’s degree typically takes four years, with annual tuition for Missouri residents ranging from $8,100 to $11,400. Master’s programs can be completed in as little as 15 to 18 months, with graduate tuition for state residents ranging from $5,900 to $11,900 per year.

The University of Central Missouri offers hybrid master’s degrees with specialized tracks in clinical and sports nutrition.

Northwest Missouri State University provides both an affordable undergraduate program and an online master’s, with a low total cost of $13,380.

Southeast Missouri State University has multiple undergraduate tracks, including a Didactic Program in Dietetics and Nutrition Science, and a fast-track hybrid master’s degree that can be completed in just 15 months.

The University of Missouri and Missouri State University also offer comprehensive bachelor’s and master’s programs with high registration exam pass rates and specialized concentrations.

See our analysis of the top ranked programs below.

2027 Best Nutrition Degree Programs in Missouri

When it comes to finding the best nutrition degree programs in Missouri, the team at nutritiondegrees.org has done the homework. We have carefully ranked schools across the state based on curriculum quality, faculty expertise, affordability, and student outcomes. The result is a trusted list that helps future nutrition professionals make an informed choice. Whether you are looking for a bachelor's, master's, or online option, these top-ranked Missouri programs offer exceptional education and career preparation. Each program is thoroughly evaluated so that students can feel confident in their decision. To learn more about how these rankings were created, visit our methodology page at https://www.nutritiondegrees.org/about-us/#ranking.
#1

Southeast Missouri State University

Cape Girardeau, MO - Public 4-Year - semo.edu

Bachelor's - Nutrition

Campus Based - Visit Website

Southeast Missouri State University's Bachelor of Science in Nutrition offers three specialized tracks: the ACEND-accredited Didactic Program in Dietetics, a Nutrition and Wellness track, and a Nutrition Science track. This 120-credit on-campus program emphasizes evidence-based principles with hands-on experience in clinical, community, and food service settings, often working alongside registered dietitians. Students can pursue internships at hospitals, health fairs, and agencies, while networking with professionals. Graduates are prepared for roles as dietitians, food scientists, or health educators, plus advanced study in medical or graduate school. Financial aid and scholarships are available. Applicants should verify admission requirements, including any standardized test expectations.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 3 concentration options
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Hands-on clinical experience
  • ACEND-accredited DPD track
  • Prepares for dietitian credential
  • Internships at hospitals and agencies
  • Career outcomes: dietitian, food scientist

Bachelor's - Nutrition (Didactic Program in Dietetics)

Campus Based - Visit Website

The Bachelor of Science in Nutrition with a Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD) concentration at Southeast Missouri State University is the foundational step toward becoming a registered dietitian. This ACEND-accredited, 120-credit program covers nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, food service management, and community health, with courses in anatomy, chemistry, microbiology, and food science. Hands-on experiences include clinical rotations, health fairs, and community education alongside registered dietitians in hospitals and agencies. Admission to the DPD is required for upper-division courses. Graduates are eligible for supervised practice internships and the national credentialing exam, with career paths in dietetics, food science, and health education. Financial aid and career services are available. Standardized test requirements for admission should be confirmed with the university.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 3 concentration options
  • 4-Year program
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Prepares for Registered Dietitian career
  • Work alongside registered dietitians
  • Network with industry professionals
  • Admission to DPD required for upper division

Bachelor's - Nutrition (Nutrition and Wellness)

Campus Based - Visit Website

Southeast Missouri State University's Bachelor of Science in Nutrition with a Nutrition and Wellness concentration prepares students for impactful careers in community health. This on-campus, 120-credit program blends core nutrition sciences such as nutrition assessment and medical nutrition therapy with practical skills in health promotion, disease prevention, and nutrition education. Students engage in hands-on learning by providing nutrition education to senior citizens, participating in health fairs, and working alongside registered dietitians in local hospitals. With dedicated faculty mentorship and networking opportunities, graduates are ready to become health educators, community nutritionists, or wellness coordinators. The curriculum emphasizes evidence-based, real-world practice. Scholarships and financial aid are available. Applicants should check university admissions policies for ACT/SAT requirements.

  • 3 concentration options
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Work closely with dedicated faculty
  • Hands-on nutrition education experience
  • Network with industry professionals
  • Focus on health promotion and prevention
  • Prepare as community health educator
  • Evidence-based nutritional principles

Bachelor's - Nutrition (Nutrition Science)

Campus Based - Visit Website

The Bachelor of Science in Nutrition with a Nutrition Science concentration at Southeast Missouri State University is a rigorous, science-oriented program designed for students pursuing medical school or graduate studies. The curriculum integrates anatomy, chemistry, biochemistry, genetics, and microbiology with specialized courses like Medical Nutrition Therapy and Nutrition Assessment. Students gain hands-on experience in clinical, community, and food service settings, often working with registered dietitians and participating in health fairs. This 120-credit, four-year on-campus program prepares graduates for careers in research, healthcare, or further education. Located in Cape Girardeau, the program offers dedicated faculty and career services. Financial aid and scholarships are available. Undergraduate admission typically requires ACT/SAT scores; verify current policies.

  • 3 concentration options
  • 4-Year program
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Prepares for medical school or graduate school
  • Hands-on experience in clinical and community settings
  • Science-based curriculum includes anatomy, chemistry, biochemistry
  • Career salaries: dietitian $74k, food scientist $88k

Master's - Master of Science in Applied Nutrition

Online & Campus Based - Visit Website

Southeast Missouri State University's Master of Science in Applied Nutrition is an ACEND-accredited 15-month cohort program that combines 100% online coursework with in-person supervised experiential learning. The 36-credit curriculum covers advanced medical nutrition therapy, food science, community nutrition, counseling, statistics, and research methods, culminating in a capstone. Students complete over 1,000 hours of field experience across seven states or through a remote distance option. Graduates are eligible to sit for the Registered Dietitian exam and pursue careers as clinical dietitians, sports dietitians, food service managers, or wellness coaches. Summer admission only; apply by January 15. Requirements include a 3.0 GPA, prerequisite courses, and work experience. No standardized entrance exam is listed.

  • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
  • 15-Month program
  • 36 total credit hours
  • Apply by 2026-01-15
  • Starts summer
  • Cohort-based structure
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Work experience required
  • Prerequisite courses required
  • Capstone required
Show 4 More Programs ˅
#2

University of Central Missouri

Warrensburg, MO - Public 4-Year - ucmo.edu

Master's - Nutrition MS

Online & Campus Based - Visit Website

The University of Central Missouri offers an ACEND-accredited Master of Science in Nutrition program in a hybrid format, designed to be completed in just 16 months. With 43 credit hours and small cohorts of 15, students receive personalized mentorship from faculty who are practicing registered dietitian nutritionists. Curriculum covers medical nutrition therapy, nutrition across the lifespan, and research methods, culminating in a capstone project. Supervised experiential learning takes place in Kansas City healthcare and food service settings. Graduates are prepared for the RDN exam and careers in hospitals, clinics, community health, and foodservice management. All students receive an automatic $1,000 scholarship, plus financial aid options. UCM provides an affordable, accelerated path to becoming a registered dietitian nutritionist.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 16-Month program
  • 43 total credit hours
  • Cohort-based structure
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for Registration Examination for Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDN)
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • 15 students per cohort
  • Automatic $1,000 scholarship

Master's - Nutrition MS (Clinical Nutrition)

Online & Campus Based - Visit Website

The Master of Science in Nutrition with a Clinical Nutrition concentration at the University of Central Missouri is an ACEND-accredited, 16-month hybrid program. Total tuition is $21,360, with a $1,000 scholarship automatically awarded. Students complete 43 credit hours, including coursework in medical nutrition therapy, lifespan nutrition, and counseling, plus a capstone research project. The cohort model limits each group to 15 students for close faculty guidance. Supervised experiential learning is completed in Kansas City hospitals, clinics, and foodservice settings. This program prepares graduates for the RDN exam and careers in hospitals, schools, community health, and fitness centers. It has been ranked as a best online nutrition program, offering flexibility while maintaining rigorous standards.

  • ACEND accredited
  • $21,360 total program tuition
  • 16-Month program
  • 43 total credit hours
  • Cohort-based structure
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for Registration Examination for Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDN)
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Automatic $1,000 scholarship

Master's - Nutrition MS (Sport Nutrition)

Online Learning - Visit Website

UCM's Master of Science in Nutrition with a Sport Nutrition concentration prepares students for careers in sports nutrition or to advance an existing RDN credential. This flexible online or hybrid program can be completed in as little as 24 months with 33 credit hours. The curriculum includes sports nutrition, exercise metabolism, and human performance analysis, with hands-on learning in state-of-the-art human performance labs. Students choose between a thesis or capstone option. With a 10:1 student-faculty ratio and total tuition of $16,390, the program boasts a 100% job placement rate. Graduates work at universities, medical centers, wellness facilities, and community programs like WIC. Recognized for its excellence, this degree offers a lower tuition than comparable programs.

  • $16,390 total program tuition
  • Complete in Finish in as little as 24 months
  • 33 total credit hours
  • 100% job placement rate
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Prerequisite courses required
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • 10:1 student-faculty ratio
Show 2 More Programs ˅
#3

Northwest Missouri State University

Maryville, MO - Public 4-Year - nwmissouri.edu

Bachelor's - Foods and Nutrition

Campus Based - Visit Website

Northwest Missouri State University's Bachelor of Science in Foods and Nutrition provides a science-based curriculum exploring nutrition's role in human health. Students may select a dietetics track, leading to Registered Dietitian Nutritionist eligibility through an ACEND-accredited Didactic Program in Dietetics, or a general track for wellness and food service management careers. Coursework includes food science, medical nutrition therapy, community and lifespan nutrition, plus hands-on learning in a modern foods laboratory and a 40-hour practicum. With small classes and dedicated advisors, graduates pursue roles as clinical or sports dietitians and food service directors. The program features an 80% licensure pass rate and multiple scholarship opportunities.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 2 concentration options
  • 80% licensure pass rate
  • 40 clinical hours
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for CDR credentialing exam for dietitian nutritionists
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • ACEND accredited through 2031
  • State-of-the-art foods lab

Bachelor's - Foods and Nutrition (Dietetics)

Campus Based - Visit Website

Northwest Missouri State University's Bachelor of Science in Foods and Nutrition with a Dietetics concentration provides a direct path to becoming a registered dietitian nutritionist. This ACEND-accredited program requires 120 credit hours, blending biochemistry and physiology with professional coursework in medical nutrition therapy, food science, and community nutrition. Students gain practical experience in a state-of-the-art foods lab, complete 40 hours of job shadowing and a dietetics practicum, and finish with a senior capstone. The program boasts an 80% licensure pass rate and offers scholarships exclusively for dietetic students. Graduates are equipped for careers as clinical dietitians, sports dietitians, or food service directors, supported by small classes and experienced faculty.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 2 concentration options
  • 120 total credit hours
  • 80% licensure pass rate
  • 2.9 GPA minimum
  • Prerequisite courses required
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for CDR credentialing exam
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available

Master's - Master of Science in Nutrition (General Nutrition)

Online Learning - Visit Website

Northwest Missouri State University's online Master of Science in Nutrition, concentration in General Nutrition, prepares professionals for leadership in public health and wellness. The 30-credit curriculum covers U.S. and global nutrition policies, grant writing, data analytics, research methods, and behavior change strategies, with an emphasis on current trends and leadership skills. Designed for working adults, the program offers accelerated 7-week courses with multiple entry points, allowing completion in as little as 12 months. Delivered by doctoral faculty rather than teaching assistants, it is affordably priced at $464 per credit with no out-of-state surcharge. Graduates become food nutrition services directors, wellness coaches, or public health nutrition specialists.

  • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics accredited
  • 2 concentration options
  • $13,920 total program tuition
  • $464 per credit
  • 12-Month program
  • 30 total credit hours
  • 10 total courses
  • Starts summer/fall
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Prerequisite courses required

Master's - Master of Science in Nutrition (Dietetics Internship)

Online Learning - Visit Website

Northwest Missouri State University's online Master of Science in Nutrition with a Dietetics Internship track is the final step for students holding a DPD verification statement and aiming for RDN credentialing. This ACEND-accredited program pairs advanced coursework in nutrition policy, global health, data analytics, grant writing, and behavior change with a nine-month supervised practice in clinical, community, and food service settings across northwest Missouri and northeast Kansas. The 30-credit curriculum is delivered in 7-week sessions with multiple start dates, perfect for working professionals. Tuition is $464 per credit, with no out-of-state surcharge. Graduates emerge as registered dietitians, clinical managers, or public health nutritionists, prepared to lead in diverse healthcare environments.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 2 concentration options
  • $13,920 total program tuition
  • $464 per credit
  • 9-Month program
  • Complete in nine-month supervised practice
  • 30 total credit hours
  • Apply by 2026-06-12
  • 4 start dates per year
  • Starts summer/fall
Show 3 More Programs ˅
#4

Missouri State University

Springfield, MO - Public 4-Year - missouristate.edu

Bachelor's - Nutrition and Dietetics

Campus Based - Visit Website

Missouri State University's Bachelor of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics combines rigorous academics with real-world application. The fully ACEND-accredited program (through 2031) features award-winning registered dietitians as faculty, small student cohorts, and hands-on learning via service projects, research, and study-abroad opportunities. Students can choose from three concentration areas and follow structured sample degree plans for a two-year transfer or traditional four-year path. The program boasts a 98% internship acceptance rate, a 95% licensure pass rate, and 100% employment within one year of graduation. Graduates are prepared for ACEND-accredited dietetic internships and the RD exam. While the department itself does not publish a standardized test requirement, prospective students should consult Missouri State's undergraduate admissions office for current ACT/SAT policies.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 3 concentration options
  • 95% licensure pass rate
  • 100% job placement rate
  • Prepares for RD exam
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • 98% internship acceptance rate
  • Full ACEND accreditation through 2031
  • Award-winning RD/RDN faculty

Master's - Master of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics (population health or health promotion)

Campus Based - Visit Website

This graduate program at Missouri State University offers a Master of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics with a focused emphasis on population health and health promotion. Fully accredited by ACEND, the curriculum blends community nutrition strategies, clinical practice, and communication skills to prepare future leaders in public health nutrition. Students benefit from one-on-one mentorship with faculty engaged in cutting-edge research and community outreach. Two admission pathways accommodate both registered dietitian nutritionists and those entering the field anew, with up to 11 credit hours transferable. Graduates are eligible to sit for the RDN exam and can expect strong career prospects, with an 11% projected job growth through 2029 and an average salary surpassing $63,000. The program description does not specify a mandatory entrance exam, so applicants should verify GRE requirements with the department.

  • ACEND accredited
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Qualify for RDN registration exam
  • Emphasis on population health
  • Transfer up to 11 credit hours
  • Full ACEND accreditation
  • One-on-one faculty attention
  • Average salary $63,000+
  • Job growth 11% through 2029

Master's - Nutrition and Dietetics

Campus Based - Visit Website

The Master of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics at Missouri State University delivers a comprehensive ACEND-accredited curriculum emphasizing health equity through advanced medical nutrition therapy, food service management, and community nutrition. Students select a Population Health track—focused on health behavior and epidemiology—or a Clinical track—covering pharmacology and metabolism. Hands-on practicums in medical nutrition therapy, population health, and food service management provide practical immersion. The 35-credit program includes a thesis or non-thesis capstone project and requires a 3.0 GPA for admission. An accelerated option allows undergraduates to begin graduate coursework early. Graduates qualify for the RDN credential and work in hospitals, community agencies, and educational institutions. No entrance exam requirement is mentioned in the program materials; interested applicants should confirm with the department whether the GRE is necessary.

  • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
  • 35 total credit hours
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Prepares for RDN credential
  • Emphasis on population health
  • Accelerated master's option
  • Population Health track
  • Clinical track
Show 2 More Programs ˅
#5

University of Missouri

Columbia, MO - Public 4-Year - missouri.edu

Bachelor's - BS in Nutrition and Exercise Physiology (Nutrition and Foods)

Campus Based - Visit Website

The University of Missouri–Columbia offers a BS in Nutrition and Exercise Physiology with a concentration in Nutrition and Foods. The ACEND-accredited program requires 122 credit hours and provides two tracks—Dietetics (accelerated BS-to-MS option) and Food Science—with coursework in biochemistry, physiology, food chemistry, and medical nutrition therapy. Students gain hands-on experience through supervised practice and a capstone research project. The campus-based program benefits from an on-campus hospital and is military friendly. Graduates are prepared for RDN certification, food product development, or community nutrition roles. Admission requirements do not explicitly list ACT/SAT; applicants should consult the university for current testing policies.

  • ACEND accredited
  • 2 concentration options
  • 122 total credit hours
  • 2.0 GPA minimum
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for RDN career
  • Supervised practice experiences included
  • Accelerated BS to MS option
  • Two tracks: Dietetics or Food Science
  • Capstone research project required
#6

College of the Ozarks

Point Lookout, MO - Private 4-year - cofo.edu

Bachelor's - Applied Nutrition

Campus Based - Visit Website

College of the Ozarks’ Bachelor of Science in Applied Nutrition integrates food science with a Christian worldview. Students explore principles of food preparation, how ingredient variations impact finished products, and nutritional needs across the lifespan. Coursework covers fundamentals of food, the science of nutrition, and specialized applications for special populations and health conditions. This holistic approach prepares graduates for careers in nutrition, dietetics, food service management, and community health. Faculty includes Associate Professor Jennifer Hernandez, a registered dietitian, offering personalized guidance. The program’s evangelical Christian foundation emphasizes compassionate service. As a campus-based bachelor’s degree, it provides hands-on learning; however, specific ACT or SAT entrance exam requirements are not disclosed in the provided data.

  • Principles of food preparation
  • Christian worldview applied
  • Science of nutrition
  • Nutritional needs across lifespan
  • Ingredient impact on products
  • Fundamentals of food
*IPEDS 2025 dataset, accessed via NCES Data Center. https://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/

2027 Most Affordable Nutrition Programs in MO

Looking for a nutrition degree that won't break the bank? In Missouri, students can find a range of affordable options from associate to master's level. The table below highlights schools across the state, with program highlights and budget details to help compare. Choosing a low-cost program is important because it reduces student debt and opens doors for more people to enter this growing field. Whether in St. Louis, Kansas City, or rural areas, these programs offer quality education without a heavy burden. Review the table to see which path fits your budget and career goals.
School NameHighlightsAnnual Estimated Tuition & Fees
Southeast Missouri State University
  • ACEND accredited
  • 3 concentration options
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Hands-on clinical experience
  • ACEND-accredited DPD track
  • Prepares for dietitian credential
  • $7,900 - $11,900 (Undergraduate)
  • $6,200 - $9,200 (Graduate)
University of Central Missouri
  • ACEND accredited
  • 16-Month program
  • 43 total credit hours
  • Cohort-based structure
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for Registration Examination for Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDN)
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • $8,200 - $12,400 (Graduate In-State)
  • $15,300 - $22,900 (Graduate Non-Resident)
Northwest Missouri State University
  • ACEND accredited
  • 2 concentration options
  • 80% licensure pass rate
  • 40 clinical hours
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for CDR credentialing exam for dietitian nutritionists
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • $8,500 - $12,700 (Undergrad In-State)
  • $13,900 - $20,800 (Undergrad Non-Resident)
  • $6,500 - $9,700 (Graduate)
*Source: IPEDS 2025 postsecondary education data, NCES.

List of Missouri Nutrition Degree Programs - Associate, Bachelors, Masters

Explore this list of Missouri nutrition degree programs, spanning associate, bachelor's, and master's levels. The table below shows each school's location with city and state, program highlights, and a link to learn more. Use it to compare offerings side by side. Whether just starting out or moving up in the field, these Missouri programs provide a variety of paths to meet different career goals. Take time to review each option and find the one that best matches your needs.
Jump to City:

Cape Girardeau, MO

Southeast Missouri State University

  • Bachelor's - Nutrition

    Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 3 concentration options
    • 120 total credit hours
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Hands-on clinical experience
    • ACEND-accredited DPD track
    • Prepares for dietitian credential
  • Bachelor's - Nutrition

    Concentration: Didactic Program in Dietetics - Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 3 concentration options
    • 4-Year program
    • 120 total credit hours
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Prepares for Registered Dietitian career
    • Work alongside registered dietitians
  • Bachelor's - Nutrition

    Concentration: Nutrition Science - Campus Based - Website

    • 3 concentration options
    • 4-Year program
    • 120 total credit hours
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Prepares for medical school or graduate school
    • Hands-on experience in clinical and community settings
    • Science-based curriculum includes anatomy, chemistry, biochemistry
  • Bachelor's - Nutrition

    Concentration: Nutrition and Wellness - Campus Based - Website

    • 3 concentration options
    • 120 total credit hours
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Work closely with dedicated faculty
    • Hands-on nutrition education experience
    • Network with industry professionals
    • Focus on health promotion and prevention
  • Master's - Master of Science in Applied Nutrition

    Online & Campus Based - Website

    • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
    • 15-Month program
    • 36 total credit hours
    • Apply by 2026-01-15
    • Starts summer
    • Cohort-based structure
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • Work experience required

Columbia, MO

University of Missouri

  • Bachelor's - BS in Nutrition and Exercise Physiology

    Concentration: Nutrition and Foods - Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 2 concentration options
    • 122 total credit hours
    • 2.0 GPA minimum
    • Capstone required
    • Prepares for RDN career
    • Supervised practice experiences included
    • Accelerated BS to MS option

Maryville, MO

Northwest Missouri State University

  • Bachelor's - Foods and Nutrition

    Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 2 concentration options
    • 80% licensure pass rate
    • 40 clinical hours
    • Capstone required
    • Prepares for CDR credentialing exam for dietitian nutritionists
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
  • Bachelor's - Foods and Nutrition

    Concentration: Dietetics - Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 2 concentration options
    • 120 total credit hours
    • 80% licensure pass rate
    • 2.9 GPA minimum
    • Prerequisite courses required
    • Capstone required
    • Prepares for CDR credentialing exam
  • Master's - Master of Science in Nutrition

    Concentration: Dietetics Internship - Online Learning - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 2 concentration options
    • $13,920 total program tuition
    • $464 per credit
    • 9-Month program
    • Complete in nine-month supervised practice
    • 30 total credit hours
    • Apply by 2026-06-12
  • Master's - Master of Science in Nutrition

    Concentration: General Nutrition - Online Learning - Website

    • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics accredited
    • 2 concentration options
    • $13,920 total program tuition
    • $464 per credit
    • 12-Month program
    • 30 total credit hours
    • 10 total courses
    • Starts summer/fall

Point Lookout, MO

College of the Ozarks

  • Bachelor's - Applied Nutrition

    Campus Based - Website

    • Principles of food preparation
    • Christian worldview applied
    • Science of nutrition
    • Nutritional needs across lifespan
    • Ingredient impact on products
    • Fundamentals of food

Springfield, MO

Missouri State University

  • Bachelor's - Nutrition and Dietetics

    Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 3 concentration options
    • 95% licensure pass rate
    • 100% job placement rate
    • Prepares for RD exam
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • 98% internship acceptance rate
  • Master's - Master of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics

    Concentration: population health or health promotion - Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Qualify for RDN registration exam
    • Emphasis on population health
    • Transfer up to 11 credit hours
    • Full ACEND accreditation
    • One-on-one faculty attention
  • Master's - Nutrition and Dietetics

    Campus Based - Website

    • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited
    • 35 total credit hours
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Prepares for RDN credential
    • Emphasis on population health
    • Accelerated master's option
    • Population Health track

Warrensburg, MO

University of Central Missouri

  • Master's - Nutrition MS

    Online & Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • 16-Month program
    • 43 total credit hours
    • Cohort-based structure
    • Capstone required
    • Prepares for Registration Examination for Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDN)
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
  • Master's - Nutrition MS

    Concentration: Clinical Nutrition - Online & Campus Based - Website

    • ACEND accredited
    • $21,360 total program tuition
    • 16-Month program
    • 43 total credit hours
    • Cohort-based structure
    • Capstone required
    • Prepares for Registration Examination for Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDN)
    • Financial aid available
  • Master's - Nutrition MS

    Concentration: Sport Nutrition - Online Learning - Website

    • $16,390 total program tuition
    • Complete in Finish in as little as 24 months
    • 33 total credit hours
    • 100% job placement rate
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • Prerequisite courses required
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Financial aid available
*U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS 2025, National Center for Education Statistics.

How to Choose the Right School for You

Selecting the right nutrition program is crucial for your career success. With 6 institutions across Missouri offering diverse nutrition programs, use this guide to identify the program that best matches your goals, learning style, and circumstances.

Start with Your Career Goals

Want to become a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN)?

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – Outstanding 98% internship acceptance rate and 93% registration exam pass rate
  • University of Central Missouri – ACEND-accredited 18-month hybrid MS program with $1,000 scholarship
  • Southeast Missouri State University – ACEND-accredited programs with multiple pathways
  • Northwest Missouri State University – ACEND-accredited dietetics program with practicum
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Dietetics track within Nutrition and Exercise Physiology

Interested in sports and exercise nutrition?

  • University of Central Missouri – Sports Nutrition concentration with 100% job placement rate
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Nutrition and Exercise Physiology integration

Planning to work in rural or underserved populations?

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – Rural health concentration addressing unique challenges
  • Southeast Missouri State University – Community nutrition focus
  • College of the Ozarks – Christian service-oriented approach

Want to pursue food science careers?

  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Food Science track for non-dietetics careers
  • College of the Ozarks – Applied Nutrition with food science emphasis

Interested in public health and policy?

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – Public affairs and population health concentrations
  • Northwest Missouri State University – General Nutrition with policy focus

Consider Your Educational Background

Ready for undergraduate study?

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – Nutrition and Dietetics with exceptional outcomes
  • Southeast Missouri State University – Three specialized tracks (DPD, Nutrition & Wellness, Nutrition Science)
  • Northwest Missouri State University – Foods and Nutrition with two tracks
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – BS in Nutrition and Exercise Physiology
  • College of the Ozarks – Applied Nutrition with Christian worldview

Already have a bachelor’s degree? Graduate options:

  • University of Central Missouri – 18-month hybrid MS program
  • Missouri State University-Springfield – 1.5-year MS with multiple concentrations
  • Southeast Missouri State University – 15-month MS in Applied Nutrition
  • Northwest Missouri State University – Online MS programs
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – MS in Nutrition and Exercise Physiology

Want accelerated pathways?

  • University of Central Missouri – 18-month completion
  • Missouri State University-Springfield – 1.5-year timeline
  • Southeast Missouri State University – 15-month program

Learning Format Preferences

Need online flexibility?

  • Northwest Missouri State University – Fully online MS programs ($13,380 total tuition)
  • University of Central Missouri – Hybrid format with online coursework
  • Southeast Missouri State University – Hybrid program combining online and in-person

Want traditional campus experience?

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – Campus-based with outstanding faculty support
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Major research university environment
  • College of the Ozarks – Unique Christian college experience

Prefer hands-on learning?

  • College of the Ozarks – Emphasis on practical food preparation and science
  • Southeast Missouri State University – Clinical, community, and food service experience
  • University of Central Missouri – Modern research facilities and experiential learning

Financial Considerations

Looking for affordable options?

  • Northwest Missouri State University – Online MS for only $13,380 total tuition
  • Southeast Missouri State University – Missouri residents pay $267.75 per credit hour
  • University of Central Missouri – Automatic $1,000 scholarship

Consider value and outcomes:

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – 100% employment in field with excellent pass rates
  • University of Central Missouri – Sports Nutrition 100% job placement rate
  • College of the Ozarks – Unique work-study model may reduce costs

Geographic and Practical Factors

Location preferences:

  • Springfield: Missouri State University – Third-largest city with healthcare opportunities
  • Columbia: University of Missouri – University town with major research facilities
  • Warrensburg: University of Central Missouri – Kansas City area access
  • Cape Girardeau: Southeast Missouri State – Regional healthcare hub
  • Maryville: Northwest Missouri State – Small town environment
  • Point Lookout: College of the Ozarks – Rural setting with Christian focus

Clinical and internship opportunities:

  • Missouri State – 98% internship acceptance rate demonstrates strong partnerships
  • University of Central Missouri – Kansas City area placements
  • Southeast Missouri – Multiple field experience options

Special Program Features

Unique program advantages:

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – Highest internship acceptance rate (98%) in the state
  • University of Central Missouri – Only 18-month hybrid program with sports nutrition option
  • College of the Ozarks – Only Christian-focused nutrition program in Missouri
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Only program integrating exercise physiology

Research and specialization opportunities:

  • Missouri State – Faculty research opportunities with licensed RDN faculty
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Major research university with advanced facilities
  • University of Central Missouri – State-of-the-art labs and equipment access

Flexible program options:

  • Missouri State – Three different concentration areas (population health, public affairs, rural health)
  • Southeast Missouri – Three undergraduate tracks for different career paths
  • Northwest Missouri – Thesis and non-thesis graduate options

Program Requirements and Success Rates

Outstanding outcomes:

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – 98% internship acceptance, 93% exam pass rate, 100% employment
  • University of Central Missouri – Sports Nutrition 100% job placement rate
  • Strong ACEND accreditation across multiple programs

Admission requirements:

  • Graduate programs – Generally require 3.0 GPA and nutrition prerequisites
  • University of Missouri-Columbia – Requires GRE for graduate admission
  • Most programs – No GRE required (except Mizzou)

Missouri-Specific Advantages

State characteristics:

  • Strong healthcare systems throughout Missouri provide excellent clinical opportunities
  • Agricultural heritage supports understanding of food systems and rural nutrition needs
  • Diverse urban and rural populations requiring different nutrition approaches
  • Coordinated university system with clear transfer pathways

Regional focus:

  • Rural health emphasis addressing Missouri’s rural population needs
  • Urban opportunities in Kansas City and St. Louis metropolitan areas
  • Agricultural connections supporting food science and policy understanding

Making Your Decision

Consider your career timeline and goals:

Fastest RDN Pathway:

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – 1.5 years with exceptional outcomes
  • University of Central Missouri – 18 months with modern facilities

Most Affordable:

  • Northwest Missouri State – $13,380 online master’s program
  • Southeast Missouri State – Low per-credit costs for Missouri residents

Best Outcomes:

  • Missouri State University-Springfield – 98% internship acceptance and 100% employment
  • University of Central Missouri – 100% sports nutrition job placement

Unique Specializations:

  • Sports Nutrition: University of Central Missouri
  • Rural Health: Missouri State University-Springfield
  • Christian Perspective: College of the Ozarks
  • Exercise Integration: University of Missouri-Columbia

Evaluate your learning preferences:

  • Need flexibility? Northwest Missouri State’s online programs
  • Want prestigious research university? University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Prefer smaller cohorts? University of Central Missouri (15 students per cohort)
  • Seeking faith-based education? College of the Ozarks

Consider program timing:

  • Quick completion: Multiple 15-18 month options available
  • Traditional timeline: 4-year undergraduate programs
  • Working professional: Online and hybrid options accommodate work schedules

Geographic and lifestyle factors:

  • Major city access: University of Central Missouri (Kansas City area)
  • College town: University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Regional healthcare hub: Southeast Missouri State University
  • Rural Christian environment: College of the Ozarks

Missouri offers exceptional nutrition education with the highest internship acceptance rates in the region and innovative program formats. The state’s strength lies in combining traditional academic excellence with practical, outcome-focused programs that address both urban and rural population needs.

Choose based on your desired outcomes (Missouri State for highest success rates), learning format preference (online, hybrid, or traditional), specialization interests (sports nutrition, rural health, faith-based), and geographic preferences. Missouri’s coordinated approach ensures quality education with strong regional connections and excellent career preparation.