Seminole State College of Florida offers 1 nutrition-related credential:
- Associate in Arts, Nutritional Sciences Pathway
Like Gulf Coast State College’s nutrition option, this is a transfer degree, not a dietetics credential. It carries no ACEND accreditation and does not lead to RD eligibility on its own. Seminole State’s own catalog is unusually candid about what the “pathway” actually is: the standard Associate in Arts general-education degree, with two math-sequencing notes attached, rather than a distinct nutrition-specific course list.
Program Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition (In-State / Out-of-State) | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| A.A., Nutritional Sciences Pathway | ~$6,245 / ~$22,894 total (derived) | 2 years | 60 |
The defining fact here is candor, not curriculum. Seminole State’s own catalog entry for this “pathway” states plainly that it is “the A.A. General degree, including common program prerequisites,” and that its sample courses are “listed for illustrative purposes only… and are subject to change without warning.” Beyond two prerequisite notes about the math sequence, no nutrition-specific course list is published under this pathway name. Its real value is guaranteed transfer, not a distinct curriculum.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | Associate in Arts (transfer degree), Nutritional Sciences Pathway |
| Format | Campus and online (Seminole State’s A.A. coursework is offered both in person and online) |
| Credit Hours | 60 |
| ACEND Accreditation | None. This is a transfer associate degree, not a dietetics program. |
| RD/RDN Eligibility | No, not on its own. It supplies general education and prerequisite credit toward a subsequent bachelor’s-level DPD. |
| Supervised Practice | Not applicable |
| Specializations | None; the “pathway” name signals intended major, not a distinct curriculum |
| Distinctive Coursework | Not separately published beyond standard A.A. general-education requirements and two math-prerequisite notes (MAC 1105 before CHM 2045C; MAC 1114/1140 or MAC 1147 before MAC 2311) |
| Research Requirement | Not applicable |
| Entrance Exams | Not stated |
| Intake | Standard community-college admission cycles; Fall 2026 application deadline published as August 17 |
| GPA Floor | Not stated for this pathway specifically beyond standard college admission |
| Tuition | $104.08/credit (published, in-state, college-credit level); see Tuition section |
| Institutional Accreditation | SACSCOC |
A.A., Nutritional Sciences Pathway
The estimated tuition for this pathway at Seminole State is approximately $6,245 in-state and $22,894 non-resident (60 credits at Seminole State’s published per-credit rate; derived, see Tuition). The program requires 60 credit hours and typically takes 2 years.
Seminole State markets this pathway primarily on transfer guarantees rather than curriculum: completing the A.A. here carries guaranteed admission to UCF or another Florida state university for a bachelor’s degree, and the college advertises the cost as roughly half of a comparable two years at a state university.
Curriculum
Seminole State’s own catalog does not publish a nutrition-specific course checklist for this pathway; it directs students to the standard A.A. General Education Core requirements plus “common program prerequisites for their program of choice,” determined in consultation with an advisor and the destination university’s own requirements. The only pathway-specific notes published are two math-sequencing prerequisites tied to chemistry and calculus placement.
More program details are available here.
You Should Know
Because this pathway is essentially the general A.A. degree with a nutrition-oriented label, the actual course selection is left largely to the student and an advisor, guided by the destination university’s prerequisite list rather than a fixed Seminole State checklist. Compare this directly against Gulf Coast State College’s equivalent option, which publishes a specific 60-credit course list including the full anatomy, chemistry, and microbiology sequence by name; Seminole State’s page does not. A student should build their own prerequisite checklist from their target university’s DPD requirements rather than assuming this pathway’s default course selection covers everything needed.
Tuition
Seminole State publishes a linear per-credit rate for college-credit (AA-level) coursework: $104.08 per credit in-state (including a $79.78 tuition component plus financial aid, student activity, capital improvement, and technology fees), and $381.57 per credit non-resident.
Seminole State’s own published comparison (tuition and fees only, one academic year) shows $3,131 at Seminole State against $6,440 at UF, $5,654 at FSU, and $5,954 at UCF.
Be aware that:
- The 60-credit total above is tuition and standard fees only. Books, supplies, and any course-specific lab fees ($4–$150 for Arts & Sciences courses, per the college’s own fee schedule) are additional.
- Seminole State’s baccalaureate-level courses (for its own four-year programs, separate from this associate pathway) bill at a higher $119.61/credit in-state rate; the rate above applies only to the associate-level coursework this pathway consists of.
- Online sections carry an additional $8.85/credit Distance Learning Fee on top of the base rate.
- Rates cited here come from Seminole State’s own Fee Schedule. Verify current rates before enrolling.
As with Gulf Coast, the financial case here is about the first two years’ cost, not about any credential the degree confers by itself: roughly $3,300 a year less in tuition and fees than the state university comparison Seminole State itself publishes.
Why Choose This Program?
Best suited for students who want the lowest-cost first two years and value a guaranteed transfer agreement over a fixed nutrition-specific curriculum.
Choose this pathway if the guaranteed UCF transfer matters to you specifically. That guarantee, plus the online course option and the roughly $3,300/year savings Seminole State itself advertises, is the concrete benefit; the “Nutritional Sciences” label mostly signals which advisor and prerequisite list to follow.
The honest limit: unlike Gulf Coast’s equivalent option, Seminole State does not publish a specific nutrition-oriented course checklist for this pathway, so a student should build their own prerequisite plan from their target university’s DPD requirements rather than assuming the college has already assembled the right course list. Treat this as the general A.A. degree pursued with a nutrition career in mind, not a curated pre-dietetics program.
Accreditation
Seminole State College of Florida is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), which governs the college’s authority to award degrees, the transferability of its credits, and eligibility for federal financial aid.
This associate degree carries no programmatic accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND), and none is expected: ACEND accredits didactic and supervised-practice dietetics programs, not general-education transfer associate degrees. A graduate of this pathway is not RD-eligible and has completed no dedicated dietetics coursework; the credential’s value is in transfer credit, guaranteed admission, and cost savings, not in any accreditation status of its own.
Compare More Nutrition Programs in Florida
- Florida International University - Miami
- Florida Nutrition Programs & Online Degrees
- Florida State University - Tallahassee
- Gulf Coast State College - Panama City
- Nova Southeastern University - Fort Lauderdale
- University of Florida - Gainesville
- University of North Florida - Jacksonville